YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
compilation (Read 10128 times)
konrad

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

compilation
Oct 6th, 2005 at 7:17am

Hi, I'm just starting out with this software but see no FAQ, so please excuse the "stupid" question which seems off-topic for the forum - am I the only one for whom compilation didn't work first time?

I'm compiling from source on Linux (Suse professional 9.2; this distribution seems to lack everything that is not completely essential.)

I got:
main-unix.cxx:41:31: curl/curl.h: No such file or directory

I fixed this by adding -D__HYPHY_NO_CURL__ to COMPILER_LINK_FLAGS and COMPILER_FLAGS in build.sh. (What will the effect of NO_CURL be?)

I now get:
Linking HYPHY
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i586-suse-linux/3.3.4/../../../../i586-suse-linux/bin/ld: cannot find -lssl
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

What do I need to do?

thanks,
Konrad

WWW WWW  
IP Logged

Sergei
YaBB Administrator

Datamonkeys are forever...

UCSD
Re: compilation
Reply #1 - Oct 6th, 2005 at 8:51am

Dear Konrad,

libcurl (and libssl) are not essential for HyPhy - they simply enable the GetURL command, which is not used for most analyses. Setting the D__HYPHY_NO_CURL__ will toggle code #ifdefs to exclude curl specific code, but my trivial build script will still try to link the libraries. Scan the build.sh (or gtk_build.sh) file for LINKER_FLAGS and remove references to lcurl, lssl and lcrypto.

On the other hand, curl is a handly thing to have; it compiles out of the box (including SuSE systems) and can be downloaded from Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login Login

HTH,
Sergei

Associate Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
Division of Biomedical Informatics
School of Medicine
University of California San Diego
WWW WWW  
IP Logged

konrad

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #2 - Oct 6th, 2005 at 9:43am

Thanks, it works fine now. I'll look into curl as well.