Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Substitution model determination (Read 3950 times)
Masaki

Substitution model determination
Jul 12th, 2006 at 2:53pm

Hi, I am a beginner of the HyPhy.
I wonder why a tree was required for NucModelCompare.bf.
How should I reconstruct the tree before substitution model was determined?
Since Modeltest indicated that HKY85+G is the best model for the data, I reconstructed a ML tree by the substitution model, then, used the tree for NucModelCompare.bf.
Although HKY85 (in local option) and HKY85+G (in global w/variation option) were also supported by NucModelCompare.bf., is it a proper procedure to get correct result?

IP Logged

Sergei
YaBB Administrator

Datamonkeys are forever...

UCSD
Re: Substitution model determination
Reply #1 - Jul 12th, 2006 at 10:50pm

Dear Masaki,

A very good question indeed. Firstly, you need a tree for model selection because you need to take identity by descent versus independent mutation into account. When you infer the tree based on some substitution model, this will definitely introduce a bias into subsequent model selection based on that tree, but most likely it is not fatal.

Model selection tends to be fairly robust with respect to some changes in the tree. You can check this by trying to select models on trees inferred by (for example), parsimony, neighbor joining and ML. In many cases you will find that the model selected for each tree will be the same. This is not to say that model selection is always insensitive to tree bias, I am sure there are examples when one strongly influences the other.

You can also try the inverse of this process, and infer several trees based on some candidate models (HKY, GTR, TrN etc) and see if the trees are identical or highly similar.