Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
Review methods for dN and dS on trees (Read 10257 times)
Sarah

Review methods for dN and dS on trees
Sep 6th, 2006 at 10:15am

I'm new to HyPhy and have been trying to understand the array of different methods for inferring dN and dS on trees. I've looked at the static HyPhy documentation, messages here, and the batch files themselves, and I'm still unclear.

In particular, I was wondering if you could explain the differences between:
  • dNdSRateAnalysis.bf: What exactly is being done here? What does it mean to test "all available models"? What are the default initial value options? How long should this analysis take? I've been running it for MG94-HKY85 on 253 sequences (984 nucs each) with a 3x3 gamma dist for syn and nonsyn on my Intel iMac; three models have been tested in 90 h.
  • dNdSpost.bf
  • post_sns.bf
  • Loading a partitioned codon file, assigning a tree MG94xHKY85..._Rates, building a likelihood function, and optimizing the function as described on p. 27 of the "HyPhy: Hypothesis Testing Using Phylogenies" documentation.
  • Because of my calculations I can't see the Standard Analyses menu now, but I believe there are similar-looking dNdS calculators under the Codon and Positive Selection submenus. A few lines on each (or references to where they are described) would be very appreciated.

Please feel free to direct me to explanatory sources I might have missed. Apologies for the broad questions--I can be more specific about what I'm trying to calculate, but I thought others might benefit from an overview too.

Thanks,
Sarah

IP Logged

Art Poon
Global Moderator

Feed your monkey!

Re: Review methods for dN and dS on trees
Reply #1 - Sep 6th, 2006 at 12:49pm

Dear Sarah,

Hi, I'm covering for Sergei this week while he's abroad.

Regarding the batch file dNdSRateAnalysis.bf: