Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Ancestral States of a Protein family? (Read 3916 times)
jpnoel1964
YaBB Newbies

Feed your monkey!

Ancestral States of a Protein family?
Dec 1st, 2009 at 10:11am

Hi. I am totally new to this software package which upon first view seems quite impressive.

I am quite interested in reconstructing ancestral protein sequences of a set of orthologous secondary metabolic enzymes of varying degrees of identity/similarity. In fact, many reside within the 80-95% identity range but being enzymes of secondary metabolism, even small changes give rise to substantial changes in functional output.

We are very interested in examining the effect of distal changes as these genes/enzymes undergo evolution on the product spectrum of these enzymes that provide protection against pathogens in the plants local ecosystem. Since the sequences in question exhibit high levels of identity/similarity, we believe that ancestral reconstructions in these cases will be much more realistic then previous attempts using sequences of much wider divergence.

See:

O'Maille, P.E., Malone, A., Dellas, N., Hess, B.A., Smentek, L., Sheehan, I., Greenhagen, B.T., Chappell, J., Manning, G. and Noel, J.P. (2008) Quantitative exploration of the catalytic landscape separating divergent plant sesquiterpene synthases. Nat. Chem. Biol. 4: 617-623. Epub 2008 Sep 7. PMCID: PMC2664519.

Can HyPhy provide the most probable nucleotide/codon at each node in a properly reconstructed tree?

IP Logged

Sergei
YaBB Administrator

Datamonkeys are forever...

UCSD
Re: Ancestral States of a Protein family?
Reply #1 - Dec 1st, 2009 at 10:27am

Hi jpnoel1964,