Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1 2 
positive selection during speciation (Read 9012 times)
LMC
YaBB Newbies

Feed your monkey!

positive selection during speciation
Oct 19th, 2011 at 10:17am

Sergei,

I'm new to HyPhy, so I apologize if this is a naive question.
I have sequence from many genes from two populations of very closely related species.  I would like to identify positive selection that may have occurred in the differentiation of these two species.  For example, if this is my phylogenetic tree where A and B are the different species and #1, #2, and #3 are labels for each branch (I'm using the PAML labeling system here):

(A1 #2, A2 #2), A3 #2) #1, (B1 #3, B2 #3), B3 #3) #1

Then, #1 would have some proportion of sites under positive selection and #2 and #3 may not be equal to each other, but neither would have sites under positive selection.

Is it possible for me to perform this test using the existing batch files?  Perhaps with BranchSitesREL?

Many thanks for any help!

IP Logged

Sergei
YaBB Administrator

Datamonkeys are forever...

UCSD
Re: positive selection during speciation
Reply #1 - Oct 19th, 2011 at 3:01pm

Hi LMC,

Yeah, run your data through BranchSiteREL (on Datamonkey); it is a bit more flexible that what you were after (i.e. all branches will have their own selective regimes), but what we found is that forcing some branches to share distributions of omega can lead to pretty poor statistical properties. When you run BranchSiteREL, you can also look at uncorrected p-values (or corrected for TWO tests) for the two branches labeled #1, because you hypothesized that only a subset of branches are of interest to you a priori. Hope this helps.

Sergei

Associate Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
Division of Biomedical Informatics
School of Medicine
University of California San Diego
WWW WWW  
IP Logged

LMC
YaBB Newbies

Feed your monkey!

Reply #2 - Oct 19th, 2011 at 3:08pm