Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board

HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Bayesian network analysis on large dataset (Read 4412 times)
Catherine Macken
YaBB Newbies

Curious HyPhy user

Bayesian network analysis on large dataset
Jan 24th, 2013 at 8:19am

I am a VERY newbie HyPhy user, and so perhaps this is plunging in the deep end too quickly. However, I would like to infer a Bayesian network for a dataset that exceeds the limits allowed by datamonkey.org. Is there a batch file available for this process? Or perhaps a command line file? (I have a good tree already.) I use a Mac G5 desktop, and have installed HyPhy, which recognizes that my desktop has multiple processors. I also may have access to a cluster that uses MPI, on which I may be able to install and run HyPhy.  I would appreciate your suggestions.

IP Logged

Sergei
YaBB Administrator

Datamonkeys are forever...

UCSD
Re: Bayesian network analysis on large dataset
Reply #1 - Jan 24th, 2013 at 8:32am

Hi Catherine,

I would suggest that you refer to Multimedia File Viewing and Clickable Links are available for Registered Members only!!  You need to Login Login section 1.8 which has a tutorial on how to run BGM analyses in HyPhy.
Also make sure you get a fairly recent HyPhy version -- there was a period when HyPhy BGM files were broken in the distribution.

Sergei

Associate Professor
Division of Infectious Diseases
Division of Biomedical Informatics
School of Medicine
University of California San Diego
WWW WWW  
IP Logged

Catherine Macken
YaBB Newbies

Curious HyPhy user

Reply #2 - Jan 25th, 2013 at 7:57am

Thanks.  I look forward to my adventure.  Catherine

IP Logged

Art F. Poon
YaBB Newbies

Curious HyPhy user

Reply #3 - May 16th, 2013 at 12:10am

Hi Catherine,
Sorry I haven't replied to your post - my account on the board got deleted and I had a lot of trouble trying to get a new one set up.  I wrote the Bayesian network code and would be happy to help you with your analysis.
Cheers,